The Government Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction is on the road, hearing from communities around Aotearoa New Zealand.

Meet the Inquiry Panel forums are open to anyone in the community and you are welcome to come along to share your stories and ideas with panel members. 

The forums are not formal hearings, instead we encourage you to speak about issues and ideas that matter most to you. Learn more about connecting with the Inquiry.

Stay for tea and coffee with panel members afterward. 

We'll have a New Zealand Sign Language interpreter at most events.

These meetings will continue into July. The views and ideas expressed at these forums will be considered by the Inquiry Panel as part of their deliberations.

We also understand that people may have more thoughts after a Meet the Inquiry Panel forum and we are happy to accept these if people send them to us soon after a meeting.

Respecting people's stories

To make sure everyone feels free and safe to speak frankly in Meet the Inquiry Panel forums, what is said and by whom cannot be reported, published or shared, including by media organisations or on social media.

Video recording, audio recording and photography, for instance on mobile phones, is not permitted.

General themes may be reported, so long as the content could not be used to identify anyone and does not include any personal stories.

Outside the meeting, people are free to share their own stories however they choose, or to make any comment they want about the process.

Find out more about the non-publication orders that cover Meet the Inquiry Panel forums. If you have any questions please contact Tony Wallace, Communications Lead on 021 764 19234.

Coming Up ...

Whanganui
Thursday 21 June, 5.00pm - 6.30pm
Whanganui Room, Whanganui Function Centre, The Racecourse, 19A Purnell St(external link)

Gisborne
Monday 25 June, 5.00pm - 6.30pm
Emerald Ballroom, Ground Floor, Emerald Hotel and Conference Centre, 13 Gladstone Road(external link)

Hamilton
Wednesday 27 June, 5.00 - 6.30pm
Claudelands Conference Centre, Brooklyn Room 1, cnr Brooklyn Road and Heaphy Terrace(external link)

Christchurch
Tuesday 3 July, 5.00 - 6.30pm
Christchurch Transitional Cathedral, 234 Hereford St, Christchurch Central(external link)

Past Meetings

Rotorua
Tuesday 1 May

Nelson and Blenheim
Thursday 3 May

Auckland - Central, North, West
Tuesday 8 May

Auckland - South
Thursday 10 May

Wellington - Central, Hutt Valley, Porirua, Kapiti
Thursday 17 May

Masterton
Tuesday 22 May

Invercargill
Monday 28 May

Dunedin - Otago University
Tuesday 29 May

Dunedin
Wednesday 30 May

Timaru
Thursday 31 May

Hastings
Thursday 07 June

Tauranga
Monday 11 June

Whakatāne
Tuesday 12 June

Whāngārei
Thursday 14 June

Kaikohe
Friday 15 June

Kaitāia
Friday 15 June

Related pages

Last modified: